The Home Grown rule was introduced in the Premiere League at the beginning of the 2010/11 season to encourage Premier League teams to sign players who were developed within the English League system, or develop such players themselves.

The Premiere League squad can consist of 25 players above the age of 21. Of those 25 players, at least 8 players must be Home-Grown.

Note that this rule ONLY applies to Premier League matches, not fixtures in other competitions.

What is a Home Grown Player?

A Home Grown Player, as defined by the Premier League, is a player who:

  • is 21 or older on January 1 of the year in which that season begins
  • spent three years between the ages of 16 and 21 with a team in the English football League system.

This rule doesn’t take into picture the nationality of player. For example, Cesc Fabregas.

A player doesn’t have to be at the same club that he was developed at to be a Home Grown Player.

For example, Gary Cahill and Cesc Fabregas are considered as Homegrown for Chelsea in the Premier League (and association trained in the Champions League).

The thing to note is the age is calculated on January 1 of the year in which the relevant season starts.

So a player’s age at 1st January 2014 will be taken into account for 2014-15 season. (So even if a player turns 22 in between January 1 and the start of the season, he will be considered as 21).

Home Grown players in first-team squad for Chelsea :

Squad Number Player Name Contract Expiry Date Recognized in PL as
4 Cesc Fàbregas 2019-05-31 Homegrown
26 John Terry 2017-05-31 Homegrown
24 Gary Cahill 2017-05-31 Homegrown
20 Victor Moses 2019-06-30 Homegrown
29 Nathaniel Chalobah 2018-06-30 Homegrown
36 Ruben Loftus-Cheek 2017-06-30 Homegrown
1 Asmir Begovic 2019-06-30 Homegrown
34 Ola Aina 2016-06-30 Homegrown

No. of Players : 8

Note that: Kurt Zouma and Bertrand Traore are not Homegrown but are still under 21 years of age.